About Us

City of Madison Employees Association Local 6000

The Madison Employees Association, AFSCME Local 6000, is the collective voice of City of Madison and Madison Metropolitan Sewerage District public sector workers on the job and in the community.

Your elected union representatives are: 

  • Martin Alvarado (Library Dept.)                     
  • Shawn Bonjour (Water Utility & Secretary) 
  • Andrew Champeau (Parks Dept.)                 
  • Gregg Gotzion (Parks & President of 6000)
  • Walt Jackson (Police Dept., Vice President of 6000, and Treasurer of AFSCME Council 32)
  • Nancy Kelso (Police  Dept.)                                            
  • Lori Kief (Fire Dept. Clerical)
  • Jeffery Kroning (Madison Metro Sewerage District)     
  • Brian Kruser (Fire Dept.)
  • Patrick McGuigan  (Traffic Engineering)                 
  • Joe Seifert (Fire Dept & Treasurer)
  • Ken Seifert (Assessor's Office)                 
  • Richard Westby (Parks Dept.) 


America’s communities never rest. Streets need cleaning. Families need care. Students deserve well-run schools, and our neighborhoods demand safety. That’s why people who work in public service never stop. This isn’t just a job. It’s a calling. The work matters because it means something to make a community better.

AFSCME believes that every person working to sustain their community deserves respect. As part of the AFL-CIO, AFSCME is one of the nation’s leading advocates for working women and men. Our 1.6 million members provide the vital services that make America happen, and we believe everyone deserves a chance to fulfill the American dream.

AFSCME is the union that honors solidarity without conformity, drawing each member’s story into a force of experience and commitment that can’t be ignored. That’s how we win better lives for ourselves, our families, and our communities. For people proudly committed to public service, we never quit.

We are AFSCME, join us.